The Department of Mathematics is committed to teaching, research, and has been giving large contributions to St.Stephen’s College in its growth in the sphere of higher education. We are a department of dedicated  four  permanent faculty,  five guest faculty , 112 graduate and 30 post graduate students.

The Department of Mathematics commenced functioning in 1964 with the introduction of Group I at the Intermediate level and was upgraded in 1980 with the introduction of B.Sc Mathematics. The first Head of Department of Mathematics  was Prof. K.V. Varghese . He served from 1964 to 1989.After his tenure Prof. M.G. Mariamma (1980-2005) lead the department till 2005..  The Postgraduate programme was started in the year 2013 during the tenure of Rev. Fr. Jacob Roy N.J(1989-2021) as Head.  Fr.(Dr.) Koshy N.J assumed as the Head of the department in the academic year 2021-22.

Today, The Department  is equipping its students with the skills, insights, attitudes and practical experience that will enable them to become discerning citizens.


© Copyright 2020 - ST.STEPHEN'S COLLEGE,PATHANAPURAM. All Rights Reserved.